Movies in Review: "Drive"

All you had to do was say Ryan Gosling and there was no doubt that I was going to see this film. But it didn’t hurt that his name was also accompanied by a pretty awesome trailer. I was looking forward to seeing action at its best, but instead was hit with a bunch of melodrama…snore…

The directing was awful…and where the hell was the action? Seemed like more of a “love story” gone wrong. There was just way too many pauses in dialogue and action. Every scene with Gosling and Mulligan, I swear only five words were spoken, but the scene lasted 10 min…smh. I was expecting to see some fierce driving…hence the title “Drive”…and the opening scene seemed like a good teaser for what you thought was to come. But that excitement is soon deflated as the movie goes on. There was hardly enough car action, and any other action scenes were just ok. The plot was also weak, and for the life of me I could not understand what the character Shannon (the garage owner) was saying…smh. I also could not understand how police never showed up anywhere, and how someone could walk around with a jacket covered in blood all day and not get questioned…Uuuuuggghhhh…I wanted this movie to be good! Unfortunately it lands on my list of disappointments :/…D!

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Movies in Review: "Drive"

  1. GaryLee828 says:

    So, you’re telling me that “The Host” was better than this??

    • I think the difference in my review for “The Host” and “Drive” had more to do with the trailers. Host looked like nothing special at all, and I went into the theatre expecting less. However the trailer for Drive made the movie appear to be something else more than what I saw in the theatre. The trailer should have focused more on the sappy love story, than on the “action” which there was very little of. The trailer for Drive had me expecting a totally different movie, and I ended up leaving the theatre annoyed. So in fairness, I may not have given Drive a “D” if the trailer fit the actual feel/speed of the film. BTW…Do u have something vested in Drive or something…lol. Was this the only movie u liked last year? Are u getting commision? Ahahahhahaha…and I still don’t like Drive 😉

      ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        Okay, if you don’t like “Drive” that’s fine, but I think your expectations skewed your view of the movie and you’re continuing to grade it with your emotions. I put the movie on after your last comments to see if maybe I was overpraising it and you had a point; but no, this movie is a fine example of the way screenwriting should be. The first act establishes plot and develops the characters – and to start out the second act we have the husband return home and vow to make a change in his life and to make up for the bad he did, etc. – all while his wife who is happy he is home and turned over a new leaf, is now invested in “Driver” and constantly thinking of him – meanwhile Driver is doing the honorable thing and staying away from her even though he is clearly pining away for her.

        But this is only where it starts…

        Now we have tension between her husband and Driver – until Driver learns her husband is in trouble; so out of human decency and partial obligation to this little boy Driver goes out of his way to help this guy pay his debts to his debtors.

        The first half of the movie is a set-up. It builds an actual STORY. This isn’t Fast & the Furious and it never intended to be. The first half sets us up for a faster-paced and more action-packed second half.

        There is a lot of action the second half…

        And by the end of the movie it tells a great story that ultimately is about a man who is willing to be selfless to help others.

        If you really hate the film, that’s fine, but I think you’re judging it strictly by your emotions and disappointed that it didn’t go as you thought. But the thing is you’re actually overlooking the point of the story and underestimating a very well-written movie. Why do you think so many others love it so much? It’s top-notch writing that we aren’t fortunate enough to see often come out of Hollywood.

        Now that you know what the story is about you can put your disappointment to the side, and maybe try watching it over with a different set of eyes, and you may see why it has so many passionate fans. If you still hate it fine, but I think you may be surprised at just how good this thing really is if you watch it for what it is and not what you expected by the trailer. Trailers are misleading all the time.

        And no I’m not associated with the film at all. I just like well written movies, and unfortunately we don’t get them often, and so when we do get them I heavily praise them.

      • Ummmm…you are really pushing for me to like Drive. I read your first paragraph and went no further…lol. I know what happened and what the movie was about. But unfortunately this movie did not connect with me like it did you. Pls don’t take my disapproval of the movie as a misunderstanding on my part of what was happening in the film. Again, this film did not connect with me. And to make matters worse, it lost me at the opening scene, with him driving, then parking until the cops passed. It wasn’t good for me…period. And it wasn’t JUST my expectations that skewed my thoughts for the movie. My expectations were skewed also with the help of poor marketing…

        ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        Ultimately, “Drive” is about a man protecting a child.

        I totally disagree about poor marketing. The trailer gave a very accurate portrayal of the story. It was “The Place Beyond The Pines” that had such a deceptive trailer; ironically, you liked that one. Which I am not disagreeing with, but am saying that that was the film with poor marketing and a misleading trailer; that trailer makes it look like Bradley Cooper chasing down Ryan Gosling is the main plot. Which is not the plot at all.

      • Gary…It is very clear that we disagree with our views. But I am not trying to force my opinion of either film down your throat, and it would be a waste of time for you to try and force yours down mine. You have one chance to make a first impression, and Drive did not impress me. I honestly thought the trailer for Place Beyond the Pines was all over the place so I didn’t walk into the theatre feeling like I had an idea of what the plot was about. What I remember about the trailer is that Gosling’s character found out he had a son whose life he wanted to be a part of. What you got out of the trailer was Bradley chasing Gosling…2 very different views. Lets not beat a nail into a dead horse. I respect your views and opinions, and I still stick by mine…that is all. Thanks for Reading! 🙂

        ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        I just don’t see how anyone can give Tyler Perry Temptation an “A” and The Host a “C” and give Drive a “D”. That Tyler Perry movie has a “3.4” score on IMDB and Drive has a “7.9”. There MUST have been SOMETHING to Drive for it to earn that kind of score. I won’t write anymore comments after this – but I believe that at some point down the road you’re going to watch “Drive” again and when you do you’re going to realize it’s much better than you originally thought.

      • If you read my review, I am very clear about my thoughts and feelingsfor each movie. You just picked the letter grades from 3 movies that wouldn’t even show up in the same category. So lets not compare Apples to oranges with the letter grade I gave them. As far as what some other critic or site rates a movie, I do not use outside sources as a basis when I write my reviews. I write my reviews as an average movie goer. I see most movies based off the trailers, and my reviews are the feelings I had when I left the theatre…good or bad. Unfortunately Drive did not leave the best taste in my mouth. Im sure that if I see it again, I might have a different feeling, but thats because I know what the movie is about and I am clear about what I am getting. But unfortunately my reviews are not based off 2nd impressions, and I stand by the grade I originally wrote, although I would probably downgrade the grade I gave for The Host a little…but it is what it is. You see m to be working hard to try and change anyone’s negative reviews for Drive. Well I hope you succeed, and also getting paid…lol

        ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        No, I clearly read all 3 of those reviews. I just stated the letter grades you gave. I don’t try to change anyone’s mind who didn’t like “Drive” – especially those who have valid reasons and opinions; I just have a hard time buying that you think Temptation and The Host were better films; also you say you didn’t like it b/c the trailer was misleading. There wasn’t as much driving as you expected. Those really are not a knock on the quality of the film; those are just your expectations. That is why I wrote so many times trying to get you to alter your expectations so that you may recognize it really is a great film after all. I guess you were expecting “The Fast & The Furious” or something – but no “Drive” tells a heartfelt story – and everything the trailer portrayed it to be was everything it was and more. That’s all I was trying to get you to see.

  2. GaryLee828 says:

    PS: the title “Drive” doesn’t mean all he does is drive. He does drive, yes, but it also is referring to the drive he has inside. He is driven to help this girl and her family.

    • It wasn’t JUST the title. Do you really think the trailer for Drive fit the film? The movie was called Drive, but the trailer confirmed that I should have seen some DRIVING…ijs. The trailer was a fluke and they should have downplayed the driving aspect and focused more on the love story in the trailer, then perhaps I would have disliked it less…lol

      ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        Not sure what you’re talking about. I just watched the “Drive” trailer and it perfectly summed up the movie.

    • Just went to your blog. I know this my surprise you, but I am looking forward to “Only God Forgives”. I saw the trailer, and with this one decided not to read too much into it. I am going to see this one knowing I am likely to get nothing I expect…lol. But Gosling is one of my favorite actors, so I am ususally on board with anything he puts out 🙂

      • GaryLee828 says:

        Yes, I know you liked Ryan Gosling, which is why I am trying to get you to reevaluate “Drive”. As you will see on my last post I just sent. If you don’t like “Drive” I doubt you will like this one, either. But I honestly think you will like both. I just think you’re judging “Drive” by false expectations (from the trailer).

      • Drive is not a movie that I would want to reach out and watch again. I may like it better in the comfort of my own home. But unlike you, I wish I hadn’t wasted my money to see it in the theatre.

        And you’re right, I may not like Only God Forgives., but im still willing to give it a chance. Although Im likely to not pay for it when I go see it…lol

        ________________________________

Leave a Reply

