Movie in Review: “The Rum Diary”

Ok so this movie was a bit of a hot drunken mess…smh. It seemed like an adventure that served no real purpose, and at the end of the day everyone just went their own separate ways…smh. You will see that there is a lot going on, but by the end of the movie you will be asking yourself “what the heck was that all about”. It is based on the novel of the same name, but I hope the book plays out better than the movie.

I love Johnny Depp as an actor, and there isn’t a character I have yet to dislike. Although this film wasn’t great, Depp did his thing as always. Giovanni Ribisi is also another actor that is at the top of my list, and who definitely deserves more lead roles (I think he may have been a better replacement for Justin for the movie “In Time”)…I’m just sayin. I say all of this to say that I had no qualms with the acting, but the writing and direction are a little questionable. There was a lot going on, a newspaper that is in the dumps, a beautiful women, an island for sale…oh and I can’t forget the drinking. I swear the day after I watched this film I somehow had a disgust for alcohol, and I promised myself that I would stop drinking…seriously…lol.

There is hardly a dull moment in the film, but somehow it still felt dull. I guess the viewing audience is on board with this because Rum Diary did not do well at all it’s opening weekend, and that’s unfortunate, because it was a lot better than “In Time”…C

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movie in Review: “The Rum Diary”

  1. CMrok93 says:

    Boasts a highly impressive cast and contains some great touches, but it’s too long by a half hour and meanders severely in its second half. Nice review. Check out my review when you get the chance.

Comments are closed.