Movies in Review (INDEPENDENT FILM): “Pariah”

I’ve been waiting for the release of this film for months. It was finally released this weekend, unfortunately, many of you won’t get the opportunity to see it. If you get the opportunity, I definitely recommend that you at least check out the trailer. The trailer completely caught my interest in the film, not solely because of the story, but also Kim Wayans performance. I am happy to say that I can now classify Ms. Wayans as an actress for her role in this movie…Kudos to you!

 This film has material that may hit close to home for some of you, as it is focused around a young woman coming to terms with her sexuality. This is a very tough situation to be in for all parties, not only for the individual, but also for the individuals family, and community. It is tough watching Alike (the films main character) finding the strength to come out to her family, which onsets a heap of drama…smh. As this movie is focused around female sexuality, I have to admit that there were a number of scenes in the film that had me a bit uncomfortable and screaming PINEAPPLES!!! (Kevin Hart reference)…smh

Some of you with teenagers might find yourselves uncomfortable as you hope your daughter is not the one who “likes girls, but loves men”, or she’s “just doing her thing”…man I would not want to have a teenager right now…smh. Although I squirmed at what was happening on-screen, I enjoyed the movie and performances. This film is not for everyone, but is something I think everyone should see…B+

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Movies in Review (INDEPENDENT FILM): “Pariah”

  1. I was wondering what your thoughts would be on this after you had some hopeful expectations! Glad to see it met with approval. I probably still wont end up seeing this one, but thanks for your thoughts. I’m still waiting to see TTSS in my city! smh

  2. When is TTSS suppose to open in your city. I know you won’t see Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close until Jan. 20 right? Did you see any movies this wknd. Not much has been released, and this wknd will be much of the same. I plan to catch up on a few Indies.

  3. well, I am off today, so I may catch something, but all I did was work over the wknd, so no movie watching was done. A good wknd for it too I guess, since there were not releases. like you said. My Week With Marilyn JUST got here!!

    not sure still how much longer of a wait it will be for TTSS or The Descendants. I may have to drive out to El Paso to watch them (there’s more movie companies out there with more options)! ha

  4. Ha! So sad! Well enjoy “My Week with Marilyn”. I just read ur review for War Horse, and realized I forgot to see this film. I think I’ll wait until it comes out on video. I originally had no interest in seeing it, but your review changed my mind. Maybe if Im in a theatre that is still showing it, i’ll sneak in…lol

  5. haha! thanks!

    glad to know you may give WH a shot. I didn’t really want to like it as much as I did. hahaha

Comments are closed.