Movies in Review: Top Ten 2011 Movie Wrap Up

I have been addressed by a couple of friends who put in requests for an end of the year movie wrap up. Not a bad idea, so here I am to oblige my followers. Following are MY favorite top ten movies of this past year. The films that made this list are here because I thoroughly enjoyed these movies for one reason or another. Many of them evoked emotions, or had phenomenal performances or stories. I hope everyone had a wonderful New Year! And thank you for all of your support! Without further or do my top ten movies of 2011:

1. X-Men First Class
2. Moneyball
3.  The Help
4. Rise of the Planet of the Apes
5. Thor
6. Bridesmaids
7. Real Steel
8. 50/50
9. The Adjustment Bureau
10. Lincoln Lawyer

Honorable Mentions: Win Win, Barney’s Version, The Descendents, Like Crazy, Contagion, Friends with Benefits, Horrible Bosses, Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows, Mission-Impossible: Ghost Protocol

That’s my list folks. Some of you may or may not agree. But whatever the case may be, I hope it helps. Happy Watching! 🙂

 
About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Movies in Review: Top Ten 2011 Movie Wrap Up

  1. You know, I’m glad to see Lincoln Lawyer on this list! I really did like that film and it didn’t get as much attention as it deserved. Definitely McConaughey’s best performance in a very long time. and Marisa Tomei is timeless!

    I am a little surprised at 2 on your list: Real Steel and The Adjustment Bureau. in that their stories were a little too familiar and played out a bit too expectedly, but I did enjoy them too myself. I’m curious, did you see Warrior or Midnight in Paris this year? thoughts?

    Thanks for a fun end-of-the-year list! 🙂 Here’s to many more movies in 2012!

    • Lincoln Lawyer was definitely one of my favorite movies. The problem was that it got overshadowed by Limitless which came out the same weekend. Limitless wasn’t nearly as good as Lincoln Lawyer. But I also think people were judging it by McConaughey’s previous work, which was unfortunate for him because this really was one of his best performances. I also enjoyed Phillipe. Real Steel made it on my list because that movie was exciting for me. It was fun to watch, and I was literally all in with this movie. This is a case where the kid was the masterpiece of the film. There was nothing exceptional about Jackman, but he and the kid were stars together. The fighting and the robots were amazing to watch. This movie still gets me excited, so yes it made my list…lol. Omg! I thought The Adjustment Bureau was one of the best love stories told in a while. It was absolutely adorable. U said that it has been done before, but I don’t agree. I think the whole twist was beautifully done. Not to mention Matt Damon was sublime as a political figure. I fell in love with him and Blunt, as well as this movie. I read your list, and noticed you had Midnight in Paris listed. All critics adore this film, and I thought it was lousy. I honestly was bored. And for the life of me, I could not honestly see McAdams character and Owen’s character as a couple. They did not melt well together at all. I also happen to think that the story was decent, but Owen was the wrong choice for the lead. I think he alone ruined this entire movie for me…smh I also saw Warrior, and gave it a nice review/rating. It just missed rating in my top 10, although I really enjoyed it. The ending was a bit lousy for me, but I liked it…lol

      • sorry, not sure how i missed your reply here. allow me to respond now! 🙂

        I agree with you in that Limitless can’t even touch Lincoln Lawyer!

        Real Steel’s kid was one thing that annoyed me in the film. He reminded me of Anakin Skywalker in Ep 1 and I grow weary of so many films where the kid knows more than the adult figures. It truly annoys me to see it over and over again in films.

        I did love The Adjustment Bureau. and my love for the gorgeous Emily Blunt notwithstanding, I felt we had seen the base underlying story too many times before, just with a very neat twist (somewhat Matrix-y though). don’t worry though, I own it on blu-ray! ha

        SMH on Midnight in Paris! hahah no way!! 🙂 that makes me sad you didn’t like it. LOL. the McAdams/Owens dynamic of not melding together I believe to be completely intentional to help tell the story so well! Loved it! haha agree to disagree here! Haha

        Hooray for Warrior! ’nuff said! Oscar for Nolte please! 🙂

        -T (previously TheScarletSp1der)

      • You make very valid points, and I happen to agree with you on mostly all of them.

        Real Steel I agree with ur comment. But it didn’t bother me so much in this movie. The know-it-all kid helped this movie in my opinion. We can’t forget that it is a Kid movie…smh. The kids that were in the theatre when I was watching this movie were having a ball. I haven’t seen that type of reaction since Karate Kid (Jaden version)…lol

        Adjustment Bureau…love the Matrix reference…lol. Im a sap though, so these love stories are never too dull and ran over for me as long as there is a decent twist. I loved the story, and especially the humor.

        And I agree with ur comment about the chemistry between McAdams an Wilson. I felt it was done on purpose, but it wasn’t done well. Instead of McAdams making Wilson appear to be a better actor, Wilson actually seemed to dumb down McAdams. This is the 1st movie ever where I was not totally pleased with her performance…eh…agree to agree to disagree.

Comments are closed.