Movies in Review: “Contraband”

After watching this trailer, who can honestly say that they were expecting a great movie…smh. I know I didn’t, but I can say that it was at least a little better than I thought, which is not really saying much. I honestly was a bit disappointed to see Mark Wahlberg in this role. In my opinion, this role seemed a bit beneath him. He perfected this role earlier on in his career, and has since moved on to play characters with more substance. This role seemed like a step back for him…although he did play the mess out of it.

Come on! Lets be serious, we love seeing Wahlberg as a bada$$. He’s just great, and looks good doing it, and he adds such charisma that is undeniably attractive. This is may be one of the only reasons to see this film, along with the performance from Giovanni Ribisi. Ribisi is one of my favorite actors who I need to see more of. He owns every role that he plays, and his characters are never straight forward, but always complicated…I love it.

Kate Beckinsale was blah, and so was the story. We have seen this story a million times. There is really nothing  intriguing about it, and there are a few subplots that were sub par and unbelievable. This movie is not a must see, but more suitable as a rental. You will feel like you got more than your money’s worth if you hold out for that $1 Red Box deal…I’m just sayin…lol. I expected to give this movie a D, but it was a little better than that…C+

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Movies in Review: “Contraband”

  1. It truly was the cast that was amazingly fit in the film I felt. Ribisi, Simmons, Foster…perfect in their roles. Expected? Yes, absolutely. but fitting!

    Nice review!

    • I agree the cast was great…which is why I was a little disappointed. The direction and writing were very weak. This movie had a cast to make it an exceptional action-thriller instead of a mediocre one…eh what can u do…lol

  2. CMrok93 says:

    There’s not a lot to think about while watching it and we’ve seen some of this plot before in other films, but for a movie opening in January, it’s actually pretty damn good thanks to a couple of cool heists and a relatively good cast. Nice review Taj. Check out mine when you get the chance.

    • Even for January it wasn’t great considering. And I thought the action was just ok. This movie could have been stronger in my opinion…lol. Gonna hope over and see what u had to say about it 🙂

  3. 3guys1movie says:

    Your review has convinced me to wait for this to be available via streaming. By the way did you see how Wahlberg was claiming he would have stopped 9/11? Nice review

    • Yeah I wouldn’t go running to the theatre to see this. It is alot less exciting thatn it appears in the trailer. Although a decent watch if your looking for something to watch at home.

      Ha! Yes I read about his unfiltered outburst. He should have contained a comment like that. Such a bad look for him, especially coming off this mediocre movie. I was a total fan of his before those comments, now I can’t say that I see him in the same light. But his publicist will clean up his mess in a jiffy, and all will be forgotten…he hopes…lol. Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.