Movies in Review: “Safe House”

WHooooooo…he still got it! Although I was looking forward to this film, I still felt I would leave disappointed. I am happy to say that I wasn’t disappointed at all! As good as Denzel looked in the trailer, I was a little skeptical about his character coming off the same way in the movie. I thought I would feel the disappointment I felt about American Gangster. Denzel is the freakin MAN! Ryan Reynolds did his thing too…I can’t leave that out.

This action thriller wasn’t short on action or thrills, just the way we like an action thriller to be. From the opening sequence you are filled with anticipation of what is going to happen. Then once the action gets rolling, its non-stop. You will find yourself trying to put the pieces together, wondering if Denzel’s character is on the up and up, or actually a bad guy. But while you’re waiting to find that out, you will be engulfed as you see his and Reynold’s characters pull off some pretty awesome fight/action sequences. At the age of 57, Denzel doesn’t miss a beat! Denzel has always played this type of character well so he wasn’t hard to believe in this role. However we are use to seeing Reynold’s in more comedy roles, and I was a little unsure about him for this movie. Needless to say, Reynolds fresh look, and naive presence worked well for him as Matt Weston, a new CIA operative who has had little field work experience. Some of his fight scenes bordered on unbelievable, but they bordered just slightly…so no worries. This movie had my stomach in knots and I wold love to see it again. Mainly just so I can look at both Denzel, who flashes those pearly whites all over the place in this movie, and Reynolds who is just too damn cute for words. Ladies if you need help in deciding if you should see this film, I have added some encouragement below. Men your are going to love it regardless…A!

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Movies in Review: “Safe House”

  1. CMrok93 says:

    It’s a serviceable thriller that should satisfy those late winter cravings from action fans who haven’t seen enough bullets and fists flying onscreen. Nothing special but Reynolds and Washington make it better than it has any right to be. Good review Taj.

    • Its definitely something that will wake u up from the bore of January movie features. I thought the movie was decent, but definitely would have been less without Reynolds or Washington. Thanks for the compliment, and ur comment!

  2. I am glad you enjoyed this. I will agree that this film definitely entertained and was not a bore, but I felt it truly could’ve been a LOT better. I love the enthusiasm in your review. It made it fun to read. It sure was good to see Denzel on screen again, and, as I mentioned, not in a train. lol

Leave a Reply

