Movies in Review: “The Lorax”

Wow! This movie killed at the box office…but are we really surprised? By law (no such law really), any “kids” film will rank #1 its opening weekend at the box office because usually only one animated movie a month gets released for the children to see. After a month of watching non-stop commercials that builds excitement, there is no way a parent would deny their child a “special” monthly visit to the theatre…and add on those awesome 3D glasses the kids love, and you might have yourself a Hit!….well…almost…

I found myself caught up in the promotion for this film and couldn’t wait for its release. However by the end, the most exciting part was the teaser they showed for the release of Despicable Me 2…release date 2013…I can’t wait that long!!! Anyway…now this is not to say that the movie was horrible. It had a lot of great things going for it that are excellent for child viewing. The animation was absolutely beautiful. Bright vibrant colors, fun playful scenery, cute adorable animals, all the things to grab and keep a child’s attention. I’m not a child, so I think I needed/expected a little more, but just found the story to be a bit dull. I have never disliked a Dr Seuss movie. I love the clever rhyming, and the lessons to be learned from his stories, but a lot of that seemed to be lost in this movie. Well maybe not totally lost, but there definitely wasn’t enough of what I know I love about Dr. Seuss.

I also found some of the characters to be annoying. Zac Effron as Ted killed me to know end. Even his voice-over comes across forced and over the top…smh. I thoroughly disliked the character O’Hare. It was a cartoon, but I kept wanting to punch that little man in his face just so he would shut up. The characters that shined in the movie in my opinion didn’t get enough screen time. Betty White played Ted’s grandmother, and I think this movie could have used more of her character throughout the movie to spice it up. She was the most fun to watch. I don’t think they gave the Lorax himself enough shine. They seemed to let Ed Helms character outweigh him…eh…IDK. This movie is more for the kids, and they will love it anyway. It’s visually exciting to watch, but I can’t say that its worth the money to see it in 3D. It wasn’t awful, but it somehow loses a bit of that Dr. Seuss feel I love so much…B

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Movies in Review: “The Lorax”

  1. this film was a visual delight no doubt.

    I do wish the Lorax was in the film a lot more. You know, even though the kids were the main target of this film, I found that kids got bored with it in the theater when the non-speaking characters weren’t onscreen (like the singing fish or the teddy bears).

    nonetheless, I did enjoy the film. Sure it had it’s dull parts and O’Hara was annoying, but Dr. Seuss stuff is always pretty fun! Great review.

    • I always love getting your take on it. Your review had more enthusiasm than mine did. I wanted to like this movie so much more than I did. I didn’t love it, but there is no way one could hate a Dr. Seuss movie I guess…lol

  2. Oh, and I still haven’t gone to see Journey 2, but I had aNOTHER person tell me to go see it. I was trying to keep your prediction of my going to go see it from coming true…I may be unsuccessful. haha

    • Lol…Go see it T. I’d love to hear what U think. If u have a theatre thats showing $2 movies, go see it there. I went to see Ghost Rider while waiting for another movie to start…Ummmmm…that movie was beyond horrible! It was ten times worse than the first. The directors doused it with corniness, and Cage didn’t help matter. That movie was super awful…lol. Just like u said, and like I thought. Are u going to see Silent House? I honestly think Im going to pass on that movie this weekend…

      • lol. I’m sorry you sat through Ghost Rider2. haha. okay, maybe I’m not. I’m glad someone other than myself sat through it. hahaha.

        I wasn’t planning on seeing Silent House, but I already saw John Carter last night and I am not interested in seeing A Thousand Words. So…maybe I will venture to see Silent House. hmmm. Tonite is wide open still!

      • Im more interested in seeing 1000 Words than Silent House. Im also going to catch Friends with Kids. I would ask how John Carter was, but I don’t want any feedback on it. My thoughts about it from the trailer are still up in the air. I have no idea what to expect…

Comments are closed.