Movies in Review: “A Thousand Words”

Poor Eddie Murphy…smh…It seems that his star has dimmed to just a light flicker. It’s obvious his name no longer holds any weight, as this movie opened at #6 this weekend with ticket sales of only 6.3 million. This would be considered a bona fide flop since the budget for this film was well over 40 million…smh šŸ˜¦

I can’t say I’m really sad since IĀ am no longer an Eddie Murphy “fan”. From what IĀ viewed in the trailer, I expected this movie to be corny, and full of nonsense. Of course it didn’t disappoint, but was still better than I expected. This movie is by no means great, andĀ even the comedy was weak, but I did enjoy it to an extent. Murphy wasn’t as flamboyant as he has been in his earlierĀ films. He wasn’t over the top and I was actually able to see his character shine. I actually enjoyed him in this movie. The character who was over the top (there’s always one) was Aaron Weisberger, the assistant played by Clark Duke. I believe his character was needed for comical relief, but sometimes Duke just pushed it too far. Ruby Dee was a great addition, providing one of the only solid performances in this movie.

The story is cookie cutter, and not very exciting. I enjoyed the ending, it was just a little too predictable. This movie is not worth the ticket price…bootleg maybe…C

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movies in Review: “A Thousand Words”

  1. “bootleg maybe” hahaha.

    yeah, this one is not one bit attractive to me. thanks for watching it for me. Sorry you had to sit through another Eddie Murphy film. Doubt he’ll ever make it back to Beverly Hills Cop status.

    • It was hard sitting through this. I always have an idea of what I will get from Eddie Murphy nowadays. I’ve seen worse movies. And to be quite honest, I have never been an Eddie Murphy fan. I have only liked a few of his ealier films, and Beverly Hills cop was never a part of that bunch…lol.   Honestly this movie was just something to watch…nothing more…lol

Leave a Reply

