Movies in Review: “21 Jumpstreet”

Wow this movie rocked at the box office! But I’m not really surprised. 21 Jumpstreet was one of the best television series to watch in the late 80’s, and anyone who was a fan of the show wanted to see how horribly they were going to do with this movie…I know I did. Well to my surprise, it wasn’t half bad.

Unlike the tv series, the film is more comedy driven, so it makes it still different enough to separate it from the show. There are still certain aspects about the show that they kept in the film of course. If it’s a comedy, Jonah Hill will always be a perfect fit. I’m not a Channing fan, but I must admit that I do find his comedic ventures to be a good fit. Tatum and Hill were hilarious together. They were over the top in almost every scene, but it made for a fun comedy. Ice Cube was über loud and seemed to also lay it on heavy, but it kinda worked, so I cant say I’m mad at his performance. I enjoyed the cameos made by the actors/actresses from the television series, especially Johnny Depp.

Although piggy backing off a very popular tv series, I enjoyed how the filmed poked fun at this fact, but still had enough going on to make it different and fun. The ending made it clear that they are leaving this one open for a sequel, and if there is one, I’m there…B

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Movies in Review: “21 Jumpstreet”

  1. CMrok93 says:

    Hill and Tatum are great together here and add a lot to this film’s comedy but it’s just the way it is all written that makes it even richer. It’s making fun of those high school comedy conventions but at the same time, is inventing it’s own as it goes on. Great review Taj.

  2. wasn’t expecting to like this movie, but I did…and saw it twice. I did write my own review for it (it just didn’t find its way to my site.) But I gave it a 3/5

Leave a Reply

