Movies in Review: “The Hunger Games”

There was Hunger Game frenzy that could not be denied. All Friday shows were sold out in my area before 5pm. When I went to see this movie early afternoon on Saturday, evening shows were also filling up quickly. I guaranteed ticket sales of at least 85million. Well I was right, and tickets sales even doubled my prediction, with domestic tickets sales of 155 million its opening weekend…Amazing! No the question is…was it worth it?…perhaps…

I liked it, I just wasn’t like OMG that was Amazing! To be quite honest I like the movie Avatar better. Not to say one had anything to do with the other, just trying to give something to compare my feelings for it. There wasn’t much to dislike about this movie. There were exceptional performances from all actors/actresses. I have no complaints at all from Jennifer Lawrence’s performance, the young woman who is getting all the shine as a result of this film. She deserves it because I don’t think they could have picked a better actress to embody this character. I believed her as a loving, stronger older sister. Her fear of what was about to happen was clear, as well as her natural strengths for survival.

The make-up and costumes were fun. Elizabeth Banks looked amazing. I’m glad they made it so she didn’t look like herself. Love Stanley Tucci to death, he’s one of my favorite actors. His blue ponytail and over sized Chiclets teeth made for great humor. And Lenny Kravitz was wearing the mess out of that gold eyeliner, I wasn’t even mad because that man still looked sexy, eyeliner and all!

I guess my biggest disappointment came once they started the game and you see these youngsters turn into savage beasts trying to save their own lives. The opening scene for the start of the game was about it for action though. All of the other scenes after that were pretty mild. There is some down time created to cause suspense, and a love story that played so thick that it was starting to get annoying. The game itself was pretty unfair for the kids involved, so for me, I just became angry at some parts. The movie is over 2hrs long, but is entertaining enough. I think the movie could only go so far with the story, but it was interesting enough for me to go out and buy the book. This isn’t a bad movie, just don’t have your hopes up for too much…A-

*Side Note…Would like to give a shout out to my boy Hudda of Hypnotic Brass Ensemble as their song “War” is featured in the movie soundtrack. They play it in the scene when Stanley Tucci is on stage for his talk with each player. Congrats to them!

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movies in Review: “The Hunger Games”

  1. Hooray! You loved it.
    Your comments on Kravitz made me laugh. He surprised me with his acting chops. And Tucci’s chiclet teeth! HILARIOUS! I loved his character.

    Major props to your friend’s music being used! That’s awesome.

    • Yes I did enjoy it. People are hinting at a sequel, but I don’t know if this story needs one. Yeah my friend and his band were pretty stoked about the offer, especially considering how major this film is. I don’t know what type of music your are into, but u should check them out!

Leave a Reply

