Movies in Review: “Lockout”

I might be the only one, but I honestly wasn’t expecting much from this movie. I am usually a fan of Guy Pearce, but from what I saw of his character in the trailers, I wasn’t impressed. The only reason I went to see this movie is because there was no way I was going to waste my time see The 3 Stooges. Soooooooo here is what I thought…

Guy Pearce wasn’t as bad as I thought his character was in the trailer. I actually liked him, and the bickering between he and Maggie Grace’s character made for some comical relief. However, the story and the writing itself was just ok. The movie seemed rushed instead of being built correctly. For example, the prisoners were “frozen”, I couldn’t understand why it only took opening their cages for them to come back to life, healthy and strong. The prison is located in space, but Guy Pearce’s character was able to reach the prison from earth in the same amount of time it will take you to read this review.

Unlike The Cabin in The Woods, this movie did have focus, but unfortunately it failed to build a strong story set around the focus of the movie. Don’t get me wrong, the movie wasn’t horrible, its nothing to rush and see. My suggestion is that you wait for it and add it to your Netflix queue…C

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movies in Review: “Lockout”

  1. yaykisspurr says:

    I liked this movie a lot more than most, but that’s probably because I wasn’t ever a fan of Guy Pearce…that said, after seeing him in this I’ve warmed a lot to him.

    What I really liked is that Maggie Grace’s character was as integral to the story as Snow and not as a must be protected heroine. She changed him and he changed her, I liked that. I thought they did well supporting all the story elements, though I loved your point about them being frozen and then just thawing and being able to walk around. This isn’t a point I’ve read anywhere else. I don’t think it really takes that long to get into space though and supposedly, for the time period, space ships are always on standby (preparation is the real time sucker). I’m not saying the movie is without problems. It was rushed and didn’t develop the story as much as one would have liked but the bones were there. I think it deserves some props for that.

    I think that’s because developing a really good movie takes a lot more effort than most put into them unless they are just lucky. And even when you do put in the time, energy and money (think Disney and John Carter) it doesn’t always pay off like it should. I also have to agree with you about the Stooges. Cheers 🙂

    • I agree with your views. I was actually on the verge of giving it a B-, but I couldn’t.   Grace and Pearce were great together…although I didn’t think they would mesh well together. The writers failed to make the overall picture great outside of Grace and Pearce, unfortunaltely. The trailer seemed to lack as much as the film did really. It had entertaining aspects, but was mediocre at best.   Glad u liked it! It came in 6th place at the box office. I definitley think it should have beaten The 3 Stooges…smh

Leave a Reply

