Movies in Review: “The Cabin in the Woods”

I was looking forward to seeing this movie, although I’m not the biggest fan of horror films. I found the movie poster for this film to be intriguing, and the story portrayed in the trailer even more interesting. On the poster it reads “You think you know the story”. I had no idea what this movie was about, but I was definitely interested to find out what horrific tale was to be told.

The first scene in the movie is very important, or you might find yourself a little confused about whats going on throughout the rest of the film. After the introduction scene, the movie plays along like any other horror flick. We get introduced to the characters, who of course are college kids headed to a secluded road trip…boring. Once at their destination, of course, the game begins. Unfortunately this game is just as predictable and robotic as all other horror flicks like it.

There is however a twist as the game is being controlled. You think this would add more depth to the story, but in the end, the whole idea just fails miserably. There was nothing exciting about this movie at all. It just seemed as if someone had a big idea that lacked focus. The end of this movie will have you sucking your teeth and shaking your head. Nothing happening in the end made any logical sense. I guess the writers thought that if they had Sigourney Weaver appear out of nowhere and explain everything it would all make sense…smh…it didn’t.

I can’t believe the money that is wasted on some of these films. When the credits rolled for this one, everyone seemed to have the same disgusted expression on their faces…smh. I usually can smell a BS movie a mile away. But this one was wrapped in everything sweet, but the core was totally rotten. Get the bootleg, get it at Red Box, but whatever you do please do not waste your money and purchase a movie ticket…D

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Movies in Review: “The Cabin in the Woods”

  1. yaykisspurr says:

    I haven’t read a lot about this movie yet but I thought they liked it more than you….but now I’m beginning to doubt my memory…hehe. I have to say I totally agreed with you:

    “I was looking forward to seeing this movie, although I’m not the biggest fan of horror films. I found the movie poster for this film to be intriguing, and the story portrayed in the trailer even more interesting. On the poster it reads “You think you know the story”. I had no idea what this movie was about, but I was definitely interested to find out what horrific tale was to be told.”

    I read the synopsis and thought it would be a fascinating horror flick, one I might actually go see, perhaps at the “cheap” theater in my area…but perhaps not after a review like that! Thanks 🙂

    • I think Im the minority with my opinion on this one. But I have to stick to my guns…It had such great potentially but went all wrong at the end…at least for me…lol.   If you can see it for cheap you might feel ok about your purchase. It was entertaining…at the beginning…but played out like the ususal horror blood bath…eh :/   If this helps your decision. My co-worker just came in raving about how much he enjoyed it too…sooooo I think Im the minority with my opinion of this film…lol

      • yaykisspurr says:

        You know we might end up agreeing as we both aren’t fans of horror…I really will try to check this one out! Thanks 🙂

  2. whoa whoa whoa. Really? you hated it?! 😉

    “predictable” “robotic” “disgust”

    booo, I say! Boo! hahaha 🙂 No, in all seriousness, it’s okay that we see this differently. But, I gotta say, I loved it. I loved that it dared to be different (at least as I saw it to be). I loved that it made fun of the genre it belongs to. I wish it solved things perhaps a little bit differently, but this film definitely avoided being a bore and a disappointment that so many other horror films are nowadays. I was glad it ended more on the doom and gloom note. I was glad that it challenged us to accept something different than the normalcy of boring slasher films.

    it’s almost the “Inception” of the horror genre!

    …and I’m not a fan of the genre to begin with! 🙂

    Hopefully, the next movie you see will be more enjoyable for you though!

    • My dear T, I have to disagree with u when u say its not a regular slasher flick because I thought that it was. All the characters were being offed one by one in the lamest manner…in my opinion. I guess this movie was set up to poke fun at horror flicks, but I didn’t find it funny at all. Im usually not a fan of spoof like movies, or horror flicks…sooooo I guess there should be no surprise about me not liking it. “The Inception of th Horror genre”!!!!! How dare u utter such nonsense. I might have to revoke your movie review card for that one T…lol

  3. GaryLee828 says:

    Taj, I don’t say this as an insult, but maybe as a way to help you find more movies enjoyable – but do you understand layered films? Films that are much more than one dimensional? This movie had a very clear message. Did you not see it? This movie IS WAY different than most horror movies. It’s conveying that WE are the real killers; not like in the horror films where villains go out and butcher people in the physical sense – but in the condition of our heart. How deep down we are evil. This is biblical; which is the purpose of baptism and why we must turn from our natural nature which is evil. This movie symbolizes that and the ending is saying that the world is better off being destroyed b/c of the evil of people instead of going on with one another the way that we do. I mean look at how all those workers were obeying the demon and slashing the cabin residents up – and after completing the task they celebrate! How F’ed up is that!? It’s a mirror image of our heart and that when it comes to others we will always put ourselves. This is why Jesus was crucified and sacrificed to show the world you put others before yourself and fleshly and evil desires. “Cabin in the Woods” had a lot of symbolism, and I think you may have overlooked it. Are you familiar with the IMDB website? You can go on there and look at any movie and each movie has its own board where people discuss films in great detail. If you looked up this movie on there and checked out the board there are discussions on there that could offer you more insight of the film and symbolism, etc. I have my own interpretation in which I just briefly explained, and others have their own interpretation, as well; but one thing is for sure is that this movie is very different and that it hints at the wickedness of man’s nature.

    • Yes all of this was explained to me by fellow movie bloggers after I wrote my review. 1. Yes I am aware of IMD, but I am not a fan of doing research on films before I see them. Does the average movie goer research a film before purchasing a ticket? 2. I am not the biggest fan of horror flicks anyway. 3. I enjoy films that are not 1 dimensional. There are plenty movies in my blog that have layers. I didn’t happen to find this one enjoyable. 4. And the messagein the film you are referring to was over my head. But even after having some understanding of what it all meant, I still find it stupid…smh. This movie was not appealing to me. But pls lets not get into a discussion about it like Drive…smh

      ________________________________

Comments are closed.