Movies in Review: “The Raven”

John Cusack I haven’t seen you since Hot Tub Time Machine…smh. I was a little uncertain about Cusack’s performance in this film. I’m not sure why, but in the trailer I didn’t feel he really fit the character. However, I am happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised. Cusack captured me in the opening scene. I quite enjoyed him.

He was fun and witty as the drunk, struggling writer Edgar Allen Poe. The movie itself is filled with thrills and intrigue that has you anticipating the end. Alice Eve was one of the weakest characters whose lack of real chemistry with Cusack kind of stuck out like a sore thumb. Her character was little dry and flat for me. Thank goodness the focus on her was only minimal. The other problem I had was with the end, and the strength Cusack had with the poison…eh…but other than that, not a bad movie.

The story is interesting enough. It’s not as intriguing as the trailer, but it’s not a total flop. I liked it…B

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Movies in Review: “The Raven”

  1. Total opposite spectrum for me on this one! 🙂 Man, so much just didn’t gel in this film for me. I could rant on it, but I wont. ha.

    We def agree on the Alice Eve part. I mean, if I were to wake up in a “box” underground, the first thing I wouldn’t be doing is calmly asking the kidnapper “why?” “Oh, you can just let me go.” “why are you doing this?” Oh No! That was so not believable! haha. I was expecting the scream we heard in the trailer from the moment she realized she was captured, and THEN immediately begin some Kill Bill 2 escape from the coffin kinda thing!

  2. yaykisspurr says:

    Not a fan of Cusack, never have been and I didn’t find the trailer intriguing one bit and V for Vendetta was not great to me…hehe. I love when elements of a movie cause rants though! I so wished this had been better because of love Edgar Allen Poe stories. Cheers.

    • I don’t really know too much about Edgar Allen Poe and his stories, and I found that anyone who does really didn’t like the movie. My lack of knowledge of the man himself helped me to take the movie for what it was. I didn’t think it was bad, and I enjoyed Cusack…I actually think I might be the only one who enjoyed this one though…lol

Comments are closed.