Movies in review: “Battleship”

Who reading this really thought this movie was going to be any good?…Well it seems the answer would be no one, including me.The trailer for this film looked like it would fall into the same circle as “Skyline” and “Battle LA”, filled with explosives, and nothing else to back it up. However the film was being marketed with high box office expectations. I honestly would fire the people who actually felt that this movie would be anything but a flop. With a production budget of over $200 million, this movie came in an abysmal 2nd place with only $25million in ticket sales…smh. I’m thinking I should start charging and campaigning myself to producers for my expertise. They could have saved millions in marketing if they had just asked me my opinion first…lol…I’m just sayin. I didn’t love this movie, but I did think it was definitely better than Skyline.

The story wasn’t great…shocker, but the movie had some interesting elements. I enjoyed the double amputee Canales. He wasn’t the strongest actor, but there was something about him that I enjoyed…his attitude. I am surprised to be writing this, but Rihanna wasn’t horrible. She seemed to fit into her character naturally, and she made other characters around her better. To be very honest the movie was a disaster and made almost no sense, but it had the strength from a number of characters to at least make it entertaining. One of my favorite scenes was the one in which the US Navy Veterans were put to work on the Battleship.

If you enjoy watching things blow up, then this is the movie might be for you, but to be very honest even some of those scenes were lack-luster. If you’re looking for a great movie, pass this one by because it’s really not worth all the hoopla they put behind it. Although entertaining, it lacked in so many areas to make it a true blockbuster hit…C-

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Movies in review: “Battleship”

  1. yaykisspurr says:

    Sounds like a $1.50 movie to me…too bad too…things blowing up can be fun if done well 🙂 Cheers!

  2. That’s about the same score I gave it. (my review will post later today). Rihanna did annoy me a little though, I gotta say. The majority of her dialogue was full of just one-liners. But she wasn’t BAD.

    I just wanted to see more and more of the aliens. They were siiicckk! This movie is what Skyline SHOULD’VE been. The “Battleship” part was cool, but they coulda totally just left that out and named this something else entirely.

    The film reminded me a little bit more of Star Trek because of how Taylor Kitsch was and how he came to be in command. his story is very much like Captain Kirk’s. Very much. So, the movie was a slightly above average rip off of Star Trek, imo. haha

    • Rihanna didn’t annoy me as much as I thought she would.And you’re right, all her dialogue did consist of 1 liners…lol I agree there should have been more Alien scenes. They didn’t use them enough. I couldn’t really understand why the humans never understood that they were not there to hurt them, only if they found them to be a threat. That part of the story should have been developed more. And I agree the movie should have been named something else. It was the title alone that made me not want to step into the theatre to see it. I disagree with you on the Star Trek comment. That was a great movie that shouldn’t even be put in the same box as this catastrophe. I order you to grab a piece of soap and commence to washing your mouth out sir! Lol

Comments are closed.