Movies in Review: “Men in Black 3”

I really can’t tell you how shocked I am to be writing this, but I absolutely loved this movie. My expectations for this film must have been lower than I thought, although I thought the trailers for this installment had potential. It was Josh Brolin who kept my interest in seeing this film. Him playing a younger K was something I was interested in seeing him pull off, especially since I already enjoyed Tommy Lee Jones. For me it was never the characters that lacked in the earlier films, it was the overall story, which was usually filled with more slime and nonsense than a grown person could handle. All I have to say is that they finally got it right in Men in Black 3.

I think the story was able to develop so well because there wasn’t an excessive amount of alien creatures involved. There is the focus of one villain in this film, all other alien features did their part in helping the story along instead of overwhelming it. My favorite alien character was Griffin. His role in the film made sense, and he was the most entertaining to watch. I really hope his character is featured for the next installment. I also loved Josh Brolin. He hit his charter on the nail as the younger Agent K. It really felt like you were watching a younger Tommy Lee Jones, so inserting Brolin did nothing to mess up character dynamics. Will Smith did his thing as I expected, so no complaints there.

I think this franchise would have benefited more if they had started off as good as this 3rd on was. I know many people aren’t really looking forward to this film because of the previous installments, but I honestly say give this one a chance. Please don’t go in expecting something different from what was given to you before. This film still has the same format, but they finally got it right. It’s still corny at point, but in the end you will feel like it all made sense. This one made me smile and left me satisfied, and some of that may have to do with the scene of Will Smith in a wife-beater playing over and over in my head…I’m just saying. I believe the teenagers will love it because there are some really incredibly gadgets, and of course weird aliens doing weird stuff that they seem to like. The women will love it because of Will Smith and Josh Brolin, and the end of the story will probably have them on the verge of tears. I would recommend men to be a little open-minded when going into the theatre. And with that being said, I still recommend it…B+

 

 

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Movies in Review: “Men in Black 3”

  1. yaykisspurr says:

    Sounds good…I saw a trailer for MIB3 (I don’t seek out trailers they tend to tell too much of a story) and when Josh Brolin came on the screen as K I was hooked. I wasn’t planning to see the movie at all but now I am. I’m so glad you liked it…that way it won’t turn into another Dark Shadows debacle! Cheers 🙂

  2. CMrok93 says:

    Nothing to write home about, but still a whole lot of fun and the perfect way to send-off the MIB franchise. Definitely brought me back to the good old fun days of the first one, and reminded me just how sucky that second one was. Great review Taj.

    • Yes it redeemed itself from the 2nd one, which left a bad taste in everyone’s mouth. However the franchise plans to continue. They are already in works for #4! :). Thanks sharing ur thoughts!

  3. sanclementejedi says:

    I liked reading your summation but I really did not care for this film. Brolin was excellent but that was about the only redeeming thing about the film for me.
    This film had plot holes large enough to drive a truck through. For instance when agent J first uses that time travel device he has to jump over 3000 feet and activates the device 2 feet from impact. However, later he is able to jump about 350 ft off a rocket launch platform and is sucessful? He should have smashed into the ground and died. That is just one of the many glaring errors in this film. It is pretty obvious that they were still working on 2/3 of the script when they began shooting this film.

    • I agree with you, and I also thought that part was far fetched, but it wasn’t enough to ruin it for me. Yes I could knit pick at minor details, but for me, the base of the movie was very entertaining. I really had a good time watching this one. Like I said my expectations for this film were low, and I was pleasantly surprised when I walked out of the theatre. I honestly would watch it again…lol.

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thought! 🙂

      • sanclementejedi says:

        I think part of my problem might be that I find Will Smith pretty annoying to start with 😉

    • Aha! Sound now we get to the real problem…lol Well I guess I shouldn’t expect you to like it then…fair enough 🙂

  4. You caught my attention from the very first line of this review! I am glad you liked it. I agree, they succeeded more by not focusing on so many aliens, but I did want to see the aliens in the MIB office a little bit more.

    Josh Brolin was the best!

    • Yeah I was really shocked to say that I enjoyed this film…lol. I don’t know, but I really didn’t miss all the alien action that is usually shown in the office. I agree it was minimal in this movie, but I also think it worked. Thanks for dropping a line!

Comments are closed.