Movies in Review: “Madagascar 3: Europe’s Most Wanted”

 I wasn’t expecting much from this 3rd installment, especially since I found the sequel to be a disaster compared to the first. To make matters worse, the reviews for this film weren’t looking positive. So although I wasn’t excited about this movie I had to see it, figuring it couldn’t possibly be worse than the 2nd…and I’m happy to say that I was right.

I have no ideas what critics disliked. Some critics even said this installment was worse than 2. Well I’m here to say that they are sadly mistaken. I don’t remember too much about 2, possibly because it wasn’t very memorable. However I do recall feeling like the 2nd installment didn’t show the penguins enough, or  King Julien and Maurice, the characters who created all the comedy relief. Madagascar 3 didn’t fall short on any of this. There was plenty of penguin and King Julien action, along with other funny elements that made the first one so good. This movie had me cracking up, much like the first one. Out of the 4 main characters Marty the zebra was again the best. There were a few down/slow moments, but for the most part the movie was filled with plenty of movement and was visually appetizing, which the kids will enjoy. I did not watch this in 3D, but I don’t think seeing this in 3D is necessary for enjoyment.

Unlike most critics, I am giving this one a positive review. The story and journey the animals took was more interesting than the last movie. The characters that were the most interesting are used well in this film. This movie is kid friendly, yet still entertaining for adults. I enjoyed watching this one and I think you will too…B+

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Movies in Review: “Madagascar 3: Europe’s Most Wanted”

  1. yaykisspurr says:

    My nephew loves these movies…even the second one…I can’t abide them even with the penguins. Still I’m glad to know he’ll love this one. Cheers!

  2. I’m not a fan of this series really at all. I’m skipping this one, but it’s nice to read your review. I will have to link to it for others to read.

    • Yeah I’ve heard more than one person say that…lol. I guess it’s just one of those movies, either you like it our you don’t. I like this series, although disppointed with the sequel, was pleasantly entertained by the 3rd installment :). Thanks in advance for the love with the link to my review!

  3. Pingback: Checking Out the “Happy-Haps!” (6/16) « The Focused Filmographer

Leave a Reply

