Movies in Review: “Something from Nothing: The Art of Rap”

I don’t think I’ll ever tire of hip hop documentaries. I remember how rap use to be, and when I see documentaries like these it only emphasizes how much the rap game has changed. Ice-T directs this one and lets some of our legendary old school hip hop artists tell their story.

I am not a die-hard hip hop head. But I am a fan of good music, and great lyrics. All you hip hop heads won’t want to miss this one. You will find yourself rooting for your old favorites and reciting the lyrics like you’re at an old school hip hop concert. This movie is very nostalgic. I was introduced to a few lyricists I wasn’t up on, most namely Grandmaster Caz…this dude is Ill…damn I had no idea.

There are a number of artists that you will definitely be happy to see again, and few artists who shouldn’t have even been included in this film, like Royce da 5’9, Joe Budden, and Kanye West. Although I love Kanye…he just didn’t seem to fit in this bunch.

This documentary is not playing everywhere, but if it is in your area, and you love hip hop music, go check this one out…B+

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movies in Review: “Something from Nothing: The Art of Rap”

  1. I knew I could count on you to review this one. It, of course, has not released in my area. The fact that Ice-T is involved in the project makes it seem more authentic…but, you’re right, the inclusion of Kanye does seem out of place.

    • Lol…u know I had to see ;). Ice-T directing it was perfect because he is an artist of that era, and was a part of what was going on then. If it doesn’t make to ur side of town, def check it on video.

Comments are closed.