Movies in Review: “The Amazing Spider Man”

Nothing I have to say about this movie is real deep, it’s more simple. I really can’t understand why the big wigs behind this unnecessary remake felt it necessary to put so much money and time behind this movie. I am over the Spider Man Franchise, and The Amazing Spider Man was far less amazing than it was overly theatrical and dull

Although I enjoyed the cast performances in this version better than the 3 Spider Man installments starring Tobey Maguire, the story had nothing new or exciting to offer. The writing was horrible and me catching a few winks more than on one occasion. Long and boring is an understatement. No one in the theatre seemed to be impressed by this remake. And as far as the 3D feature, they are pretty non-existent. I watched over 85% of the movie with my 3D glasses on the top of my head.

This version was hokie (yeah I just got country on you), but to make it clear, it’s not worth paying to see in the theatre. Wait for it on a local tv station. It was ok at best, but to keep it plain, you’ve seen it before…C-

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movies in Review: “The Amazing Spider Man”

  1. My dear Tajuana!
    Okay,
    you knew this was coming! 😀

    “I really can’t understand why the big wigs behind this unnecessary remake felt it necessary to put so much money and time behind this movie.”
    – There was so much that Raimi did wrong. while I still like the first 2 (…there are some of us that deny the existence of the 3rd). I go over some of that here: http://wp.me/pWaTa-1hf

    “the story had nothing new or exciting to offer.”
    -Did we watch the same movie? There was so much more that was new? Gwen Stacy, Peter’s parents, 3D technology, The Lizard, Webshooters! I remember being asked by an 18yr old about what in the world the webshooters were and how weird they were. Shocked! I remembered he was 8 when Spider-Man came out which mislead tons of new Spidey fans into thinking that his webbing originated from his wrists. I was appalled. Marc Webb got it right this time around.

    “to make it clear, it’s not worth paying to see in the theatre. Wait for it on a local tv station. It was ok at best, but to keep it plain, you’ve seen it before…C-”
    – Ya hurt my heart here just a little bit! The original Spider-Man movie was so much more “hokie” than this one (yeah, I just got country on you). and the 3rd was far far worse. Fans who spent money on any and all 3 of them owe it to themselves to see a much more accurate representation of the Spider-Man story on the big screen.

    I recommend watching it again through different eyes perhaps. Eyes that can see past the “same ol’ story.” The origin wasn’t going to change, but what did was they way in which it was told. The relationships were far better (Director Webb’s previous work includes 500 Days of Summer), the cinematography was far better, and the storytelling far exceeded that of Raimi’s trilogy.

    Sorry about my rant…getting off my soapbox now. There’s more on my page in my review. ha 😀

    • Wow you just gave me a tongue lashing! It is obvious u are very passionate about Spider Man. It is impossible for me to see it any other way than the way I saw it. I like Spider Man, but Im not a fanatic, and this is where most of your love is coming from. As a regular movie goer interested in seeing a decent film, this new installment did nothing for me to cause excitement.

      The visuals were a disappointement…Im sorry. I dont see how you can say the 3D effects were great when I watched most of the movie with my glasses on my head instead of my eyes. The cast was great, but the story was weak. Peter Parker trying to hunt down the man that killed his uncle was portrayed better in the older movies. His Spidey strength should have been something worth seeing, but instead I found myself bored with what Spider Man had to offer in this movie, except for when he was swinging by the webs. Those scenes were nice to watch.

      Using the word “AMAZING” in the title was a far stretch from what the movie actually had to offer. I know Spidey is your baby, but im sorry my friend, this movie was dull. I fell asleep twice…smh

Leave a Reply

