Movies in Review: “The Watch”

So The Watch was about the only major released film this weekend, but I still don’t think that this fact will help it with opening box office sales. I wasn’t in a hurry to see this movie, and only watched it because it was the only new release. Although it’s a comedy, the trailer didn’t look very funny to me. Just as I thought, this movie is just luke warm in the comedy category.

I am a fan of Jonah Hill in comedic roles, and I’ve yet to be disappointed by him…until now. I don’t know what it was. Maybe Vince Vaughn overpowered everyone, or this was how his character was directed, but he wasn’t very funny. I chuckled here and there, but it seemed as if Hill’s charter was being held back. I did however find Vaughn to be the most comical. I am an on and off fan of Vaughn, but I did like him in this movie. Ben Stiller is the same as he is in all of his comedic movies. He makes the same facial expressions, and is so mechanical that it is hard to differentiate his characters from one another…eh.

You would be a fool to go into the theatre expecting a phenomenal story. You have to go into the theatre expecting nonsense and a good laugh. Well this movie is packed full of nonsense but the laughs are more infrequent. I would wait for a rental on this one. It’s not the best comedy I have seen this summer, and in my opinion your money would be better spent to see Ted…C

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movies in Review: “The Watch”

  1. Yes! “T and T” are in sync once again! 😀 haha “Taj and Terrence” both thought the same on this film.

    I wasn’t expecting much in this film and was STILL disappointed. Everyone was the same as they always are in their movies and that really annoyed me, along with all of the ridiculously unnecessary and underdeveloped subplot lines.

    Not sure that I’d enjoy Ted a whole lot more, but you are right, this one is better as a rental.

    • Its funny because I was actually afraid to read ur review thinking you may have liked this one…lol. Glad to know we are in sync on a film again! We were bumping heads for a while there. Can’t wait to read how u described the movie in ur review. Ur reviews are always so animated…I love that. I don’t know what ur style of comedy is, but Ted was some pretty hilarious, raunchy fun. 🙂 Total Recall today…YAY!!!

Leave a Reply

