Movies in Review: “The Bourne Legacy”

Wow…I was receiving text messages about this movie all weekend. I was unable to see the movie until Sunday, but from everyone’s disappointment, I wasn’t anticipating seeing this new installment as much as I had been Friday. Once the movie started rolling, within the first 15min, I could see where all the disappointment was coming from.

Right from the beginning it is easy to see and feel the difference in this installment and the previous 3. Legacy is directed by Tony Gilroy, who only wrote the screenplay for the other 3. So fair warning, please don’t go in expecting to get the same Bourne feel that you received from the earlier 3 movies. What I had a problem with was the way the movie was sequenced and edited. I don’t think that the character Aaron Cross was given a proper introduction. It was like the director just threw the audience into a whole new story without much-needed background. I thought Jeremy Renner was great for the part, and I enjoyed him as Cross. I had a problem with the fact that I have no clue where the hell he came from. It seems as if his division was totally different from Jason Bourne. Cross and his group were more like science projects…but why?

Like I said, editing, directing, and character development played a role in making this movie as likable as the previous 3. There was way too much going on that made the story hard to follow. I loved the addition of Norton, and I hope they keep his character, although I am unclear about where he came from…but oh well. Once things finally got rolling, the movie wasn’t so bad. There were some unanswered questions, but at least the movie was moving because the first 20-30 min felt like it was swimming in molasses. But the worst part about this movie was the beginning and unfortunately the end. This ending almost killed any substance I was able to salvage from this movie. The ending was less developed than the characters and left you hanging…smh. You know an ending that makes you suck your teeth…yeah its one of those. Bourne isn’t horrible, but will likely find a way to leave a bad taste in your mouth…C+

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Movies in Review: “The Bourne Legacy”

  1. Tippi says:

    When the house fight started I remember thinking to myself, “Okay, NOW we’re rolling.” That was definitely when the movie picked up for me. I didn’t mind the beginning though, I knew it was leading up to something exciting. But because I had enjoyed the rest of the movie so much, I felt cheated by the ending. That’s it?? Why?!

    • I agree that the fight scene got things rolling, but it took so long to get there. The slow beginning wasn’t as intriguing or interesting as the first Bourne. It didn’t have me feeling like I was interested in knowing what was about to happen, this slow beginning had me asking what the hell is going on. This movie took too long to get started, was enjoyable in the middle, and then failed at the end…thats a disappointment.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  2. The Focused Filmographer says:

    Yes. Gilroy seems to like to just push audiences into the middle of the story without intro. And it does this film no favors. I share some of the same sentiments as you on this one. Glad you got to see it though.

Leave a Reply

