Movies in Review: “Bullet to the Head”

Bullet_to_the_Head_PosterAll I can say is this movie was a disaster from the word GO! Whose idea was it to bring this testosterone filled BS to the big screen. I know no one with half a brain cell would find this movie interesting, I know I didn’t. I kept dosing off on it, but don’t worry I saw enough to still give you a summary…

There was shooting, fighting, more shooting, and in between there was some weak dialogue spoken that didn’t help in building, or moving the weak storyline along. Stallone was like a bad “tough guy” on steroids. Nothing he did or said made sense. Detective Taylor Kwon, played by Sung Kang (Fast & Furious), was an idiot. His character was weak and kept getting pushed around by Stallone, which made absolutely no sense.

With a horrible cast, poor writing and directing, Bullet to the Head had me wishing someone would pay me the favor. The only thing I got out of seeing this film was a few Zzzzzz’s, but I prefer to have my money back…F!

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Movies in Review: “Bullet to the Head”

  1. I hated this so much, but it did give me a chance to do a funny review ๐Ÿ˜€
    How weird did Stallone look and why was Sung Kang trying to sell me a Blackberry in the middle of the film?

  2. yep, not bothering with this one. poor Stallone. he and Schwarzenegger making a little comeback. makes me wonder about the upcoming The Tomb…

  3. GaryLee828 says:

    Finally, a movie you hated more than Drive!

    • There are plenty of movies I dislike more than Drive. But I don’t rate my movies based around 1 film, I base my reviews on my personal movie experience. And unfortunately my experience with Drive was not a positive one…and Im ok with that. You must rate all your reviews around Drive..lol.

      ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        No, I just can’t believe anyone would say a Tyler Perry movie with Kim Kardashian is better than “Drive”. You probably think House of Payne is good, too. lol.

      • Well lets be clear. Yes I enjoyed Seduction, if thats what you are referring to, a lot better than Drive. And Yes I happen to find House of Payne entertaining, along with millions of others, his show is in syndication…smh 

          Drive was NOT a good movie to ME, and not one that I would recommend. MY reviews, MY thoughts, MY opinions…MY blog…

        ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        Wow, this explains everything; anyone who thinks House of Payne is actually good. Mystery solved.

      • #GetALife

        ________________________________

      • Sorry…meant to write…So anyone who likes House of Payne can’t enjoy films like Drive? #GetALife

      • GaryLee828 says:

        Probably not; but then again if one would like that show then one must not be very picky and would probably like anything. #YouLoveMe

      • Its mindless comedy. A person has every right to enjoy mindless comedy if one chooses. I happen to find the show entertaining, while you happen to enjoy harassing people about Drive entertaining. #ToEachHisOwn

        ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        Mindless comedy is great, but the key to comedy is it has to be actually be funny, and not have dialogue that sounds like it’s written by a first grader.

      • We dont have the same taste in movies, and now comedies. Im sure this list could go on and on…

        ________________________________

      • And by the way…Im not the only person who found the trailer to be misleading. Someone even filed a lawsuit against the film for the misleading trailer. Consumer felt the way I felt, and just wanted her money back. I don’t see you trying to find her to change her opinion…lol

        ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        I haven’t encountered this person; get that person on here and I will.

        Watch this trailer and TELL ME HOW IT IS MISLEADING! It isn’t misleading at all. I think the person you’re referring to must have been referring to The Place Beyond The Pines.

        So, Gosling & Mulligan hold hands and stare at each other on this trailer…but yet you didn’t know there was a love story.

        And here’s another fun fact for you: Ryan Gosling & Carey Mulligan barely interacted after the first act; once her husband returned.

        So, all your brain is doing is remembering the first act as the entire movie.

        I would LOVE to know HOW this trailer is misleading!

      • Uuuuggghhhh!!! If I forgot anything about this movie, it’s because it was forgettable, plain and simple. If I enjoyed the film I could tell you about it verbatum, like you’re trying to do…lol.   Answer this…Are you getting paid to trying and change viewers minds about the film? It had a good run in theatres, so why are you so pressed to get me to see your point of view. I explained to you from your first question…I am not a fan of 80’s movies. I can’t see why you find it so hard to see that I don’t like Drive.   BTW…I appreciate a person’s opinion and I may have given Drive another look, but you are just rude, and obnoxious about the whole thing, and I would pass completely on it…smh

        ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        I understand you don’t like “Drive”. What I asked was, if you watch this trailer HOW was it misleading to the plot? There is no way you, or this woman suing could answer. The trailer is not misleading one iota. It sums up the entire story. I am not asking you to like the movie. I am asking to PLEASE inform me HOW the trailer is misleading?

      • In YOUR eyes the trailer sums up the movie. Just like you found Place Beyond the Pines misleading and I didn’t.

          Ha! and I just watched the trailer again, and I still found it miseading even after seeing the film. The trailer’s pace is faster and more exciting than how the movie played out. The movie was very melodramatic, but the trailer has a real sexy feel. The trailer is hot, and the movie was luke warm. The scenes in the trailer scream AMAZING, but seen in the story the scenes had less pizazz. The speed and musical soundtrack in the trailer gave the feeling of a much different movie than the one I saw. And even after seeing the movie and watching the trailer again, I still feel the same way.   Hope this is answers your question, but something tells me you won’t see where I am coming from…lol. Have a great one sir!

        ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        The music in the trailer is the same music that plays in the movie. I bought the score/soundtrack. Everything on that trailer happens in the movie. You said that you only remember one action scene in the movie which was the elevator scene, but there were a slew of brutal murders in this movie. In fact they had to tone it down to get it down to an “R” rating; in it’s original form it would have gotten an NC-17. I’m not saying violence makes a movie better; I am just merely pointing out that it wasn’t as slow as you remember. The first act is what you’re remembering as being slow, but after that the tension rose and built throughout the second act until you had a brutal, fast paced third act; which is how a story is properly constructed. You establish and develop the first act; build the second act; then erupt in the third. You can hate the film; all I’m trying to do is make you see that it’s well written and deserves a better grade than “Abduction” and “Olympus Has Fallen”. Those are crappy scripts. “Drive” even though you didn’t like it, is a well-written story. It’s quality. Olympus and Abduction are not.

        When reviewing a film and persuading an audience to “watch or pass” it’s important to know the difference between strong and weak writing. It’s fine to have your own opinion, but I don’t think a reviewer should grade the film strictly by their personal feelings. Your disdain for the movie not meeting your expectations skewed your vision of seeing a well-written script; your “D” grade indicates that the movie is a total piece of crap; when your grade is dictated mostly by your let-down. But if someone googles a “Drive” review and comes across yours then your review indicates the movie plain sucks and has poor directing – poor acting – and poor writing; and that’s what’s misleading about your grade.

        I didn’t really like “Saving Private Ryan” but I wouldn’t give it a “D” simply b/c it was extremely well done. I personally didn’t like it. But if I were to review it I would point out I didn’t personally like it, but it was well done, etc. On my blog I wrote a review for “The Informers” in which I personally loved, but I point out multiple times it’s not a film for everyone. I don’t think these blog reviews should be simply for our own pleasure, but to help inform moviegoers of good and bad films. I personally thought “Scary Movie 5” had some funny parts and I enjoyed it at the theater…but I wouldn’t recommend it to others b/c I know a lot of people didn’t like it – and it’s not a film with strong writing. It just had some moments in there I personally found humorous. But I’m well aware not everyone else would.

      • You know you wrote alot but I stopped reading and skimmed. My movie blog is just for enjoyment and entertainment for anyone who wants to stop and either agree or disagree with my opinion. I really don’t need a lesson on how to write my own opinion.   You want to keep repeating what the movie had in it, but as I said to you before Drive was not memorable to me…Point Blank Period. If my reviews and writing does not fit your liking, then you are free to move on. Kinda tired of going back and forth about this movie. There are plenty of bloggers on here who enjoyed the movie the way you did. I suggest you take all your feelings for this film to them. It was an overly exhausting experience debating this with you. Later! ๐Ÿ™‚

        ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        You could have stopped anytime, baby.

      • Ummmm yeah…I don’t like being called baby from anyone I don’t know. Creeps me out and you are this close to me finding some way to block you…IJS. Again…repoire has not been established…

        ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        You really think I just called you baby? lol. I guess the “Drive” trailer wasn’t the only thing that flew over your head. ๐Ÿ™‚ You mean we haven’t built rapport. It’s one of those words spelled differently than the way it sounds. And b/c we have not built rapport was precisely why saying “baby” was funny; that was the joke. You’ve been watching so much House of Payne you don’t get the jokes that are funny! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Whats funny is that I looked up the spelling for rapport before writing it, but still spelled it the way I was sounding it out…oh well.   And if calling someone baby is suppose to be a joke, ur right, I can’t see how I missed that. (that was sarcasm just in case u missed that)

        ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        No, I didn’t miss it. I can actually tell when people are joking. I really don’t get how you could have taken what I said to be serious. House of Payne & Meet The Browns is rotting your brain! lol.

Leave a Reply

