Movies in Review: “Jack the Giant Slayer”

Jack_the_Giant_Slayer_posterMany people have anticipated The Oz movie, but I think I have anticipated this one more. I haven’t been a fan of all the nursery rhymes and childhood stories being made into movies, but the trailer for this one had me looking forward to its premiere. Unfortunately I saw it a week later than I hoped to, but I made sure to make it into the theatre my first free opportunity hoping I wouldn’t face disappointment.

After having an abysmal jan-feb, it seems that movies are on an upswing…finally! I am finally getting my monies worth instead of leaving the theatre with an attitude…lol. With that being said, I loved Jack the Giant Slayer. Nicholas Hoult, you may remember him as Beast in X-men First Class, was a joy to watch. There was something so easy-going about him as Jack. He has a “Clark Kent” look about him that had me thinking he was going to go behind a building and the next minute show up in a red and blue spandex suit…lol…but I digress. What I’m trying to say is that he was super cute and fit his character well. The only problem I had was with the leather jacket he was dressed in. It looked like it was out-of-place in the movie. I looked like something you would find at Neiman Marcus…Im just saying.

I always love Ewan McGregor, and his part in this film was no different. I love that McGregor knows how to capture and bring life to the characters he plays. It hardly ever feels like he’s acting. I enjoyed every scene he was in, and wished he was in more. I wasn’t really a fan of the actress who played the Princess. I can’t really put my finger on the problem I had with her, but there was something about her that seemed forced…eh…whatever…

So far Jack has been the best movie I have seen this year. There are a number of great characters, especially the Giants and I also thought they did an excellent job of bringing this story to life and not messing it up…A-

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Movies in Review: “Jack the Giant Slayer”

  1. Hmm very positive, good review. Think I will watch it this weekend, well this or Welcome to the punch.

    • Welcome to the Punch I haven’t heard about. I just read the write up on it, and it looks good. Thanks for mentioning it. I love James McAvoy, and Mark Strong is great too. Not sure which one you will choose to see, but it doesn’t look like you will go wrong with either. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

      ________________________________

  2. oh man…the BEST so far? you and I def didn’t see the same movie! hahaha. (Oh, this is what I love abt comparing our notes back and forth)! πŸ˜€

    but…the best of the year so far? we’ll just chalk it up that statement to your absence from the theaters for a while! πŸ˜‰

    • LMAO!!! Well what movie beat it? This movie was sooooo cute! Ahahahha…now I really cant wait to see what funny phrases u used to put it down.

      ________________________________

      • πŸ˜€ haha. of the year? so far? ummm, while that is tough to answer given the poor choices, I will say that I like Snitch for that title so far. It’s not great mind you, but the characters were far more believable and developed than I expected.

      • Snitch was decent, but Jack was much better. What character development did u need. It was a fairy tale…lol. I think it is one of the better ones brought to the big screen.

Comments are closed.