Movies in Review: “Oz the Great and Powerful”

Oz_-_The_Great_and_Powerful_PosterThere is no doubt that this film will take the #1 spot this weekend as the most anticipated film so far this year. When I first saw the trailer, I was excited because I thought it would be great to tell the story of Oz, what turned me off from this film was the cast. Mila Kunis?…Really? James Franco? Hmmmmm…wouldn’t have been my first choice. But besides these 2 flaws, the visuals looked amazing and the story of Oz had to be at least somewhat interesting right? Well it was…somewhat…

I don’t even know where to start, except that during the opening scene, I thought it was a joke. The movie didn’t play out anything like the trailer would have you think. The trailer made the film look more thrilling, but instead the film played out like more of a parody to The Wizard of Oz…smh. It begins with a dollop of corniness and ends in the same way. I found myself dosing off several times. Franco’s performance was fair, it was the writing and directing that failed him. Mila Kunis was an epic fail, and seemed out-of-place. She had the worst costume designer and make-up artist for her character. Was I the only one who wasn’t feeling that red get up with the exaggerated hat and black leather pants, and then later on with the green face paint. Come on! And to make matters worse her performance was horrible. I could swear she was reading queue cards…smh.

This movie could have used a few musical numbers, or something that made the original Wizard of Oz so great. The only characters I enjoyed were China Doll and the Monkey…they were cute. I feel like I’m might be alone in my views, because the audience gave it a big round of applause upon leaving the theatre. In my opinion this film had great potential, but was just plain dumb. And as far as the visual aspect, there were some great effects when the Wizard first arrived in Oz, but that was about it. So I don’t know if it’s worth spending the extra few bucks for Imax…Oz may have been great and powerful, but unfortunately his story was flat and weak…C+

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Movies in Review: “Oz the Great and Powerful”

  1. CMrok93 says:

    It’s a good movie that made me happy to be back in Oz. However, anybody expecting anything like the classic is going to be sure out of luck. Good review Taj.

    • There was very little that I enjoyed about this movie except what I mentioned in my review. I didn’t go in expecting it to be like the original. But I still left with no connection with this film. It was boring…   Thanks for stopping by and reading! πŸ™‚

      ________________________________

  2. Trailers for this make me cringe, waiting for DVD πŸ˜€

    Interesting that you have done a flip on the majority of people liking Jack the giant slayer more than Oz πŸ˜€

    • The Oz trailers made me cringe a little too…lol   I am not in the majority with Oz. Everyone was applauding when the credits rolled, and I couldnt get out of the theatre fast enough. I wasn’t the only one who felt that way though. Before I went in to see Oz, a woman came out and told another viewer it was awful and to go see Jack instead…lol

      ________________________________

  3. Great review. yep, I agree. It was a letdown. Beautiful, but a letdown nonetheless. you hit on a lot of the same things I took issue with…music, mila, etc.

    • Wow…thought I was the only one who disliked it. Everyone else I speak to seems to rave about it. I have been trying to get to read ur thoughts on it. I did think u may have liked it more than myself…nice to know we agreed with this one πŸ™‚   Gonna chk what u wrote soon!

      ________________________________

  4. GaryLee828 says:

    I agree with you on this one, as well. I sure as heck wasn’t applauding. I went to see this on the IMAX 3-D and thought some of the visuals were cool, but nothing spectacular, or anything. James Franco who is an actor I like was miscast in this role – and Mila Kunis who is a good actress was absolutely horrific as the wicked witch of the west. I could not believe how atrocious she was, and have no idea why she was cast. Rachel Weisz was strong (as always) as was Michelle Williams and the monkey and china doll were acted pretty well…but was hardly enough to make the film good.

Leave a Reply

