Movies in Review: “The Host”

The_Host_PosterOut of all the movies that were released this weekend, this was the one I was least looking forward to seeing. I have seen the trailer several times, and found very little intriguing about it, but it still made it on my list to see.

The first thing I have to say that this movie ran longer than it was necessary. It had a running time of 2hrs, but I think 30min of that could have been edited out. The story was decent, but dragged on, which ruined the movie a little. The story could have used more background on how the “Souls” took over earth, instead of only focusing on the love story. The love story got dull quickly, but wouldn’t go away. The movie needed a jolt of something, but never received it. I love Saoirse Ronan as “Wander”. I enjoyed her character and thought she looked absolutely beautiful. She made the movie bearable, but the ending killed it for me…smh

This is a love story that dragged and did not have enough going on to make me care. This film is nothing exciting. In my opinion, they should have left this story on the pages of the book it came from instead of bringing it to the big screen and almost boring me to death…C+

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Movies in Review: “The Host”

  1. Kinder than perhaps you should have been to this drab of a film. the remnants of the twilight author trying to bank on her twi-hards looking to satisfy their withdrawal from their Bella and Edward sparkling adventures.

    mark my words: this one flops (hopefully, so I don’t have to watch continuations for the next 5 years) and then Meyers writes side stories for Twilight instead and brings those to film. Either that, or they just keep making these movies for us to suffer. It’s a lose-lose situation. ha.

    • Ha! I Liked Ronan a lot, perhaps the reason for my generous mark. It was def drab. A book that should have never been brought to the big screen…

      Con’t wait to read what u wrote about Temptation πŸ™‚

  2. GaryLee828 says:

    Wait a second – why in the heck did you grade this a “C+”? Everything you said on your review makes it sound like you utterly hated it. You even said it “bored you to death”, but yet it gets a C+? Sounds more like a D or an F.

    • Oh did you not read how much I enjoyed Ronan. And I also thought the story had some cute aspects. Ok ok…u got me…maybe a C+ was too high…was more like a C-…lol

      ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        More like a generous D. So…this was better than “Drive”?

      • Eh…what did I give Drive?…lol   Its actually not on the same block as “Drive”. Very different movies…I see ur going to defend Drive to the death…lol

        ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        I just posted on your “Drive” review that you gave a “D” while you gave “The Host” a “C” LOL!

      • Yeah and I just replied. But these are totally different movies. I rate a movie like Host along the same lines as a “Twilight” or some other cute tween flick. And This received a C because I enjoyed Ronan mostly.

        ________________________________

Leave a Reply

