Movies in Review: “The Place Beyond the Pines”

The_Place_Beyond_the_Pines_Poster

I am anything Gosling, so of course I was looking forward to seeing this film. The fact that it also starred Bradley Cooper was just icing on the cake. I was a bit leery though when watching the trailer. It reminded me of that movie Drive, which Gosling also starred in, which I was not a fan of. But I brushed my feelings off and was hoping to have an enjoyable experience.

I liked it, although It seemed strangely written. Once one character’s story ended, another began. That’s kinda how the story played out to me. It was weird, but I like weird as long as it makes sense, and this did. I definitely enjoyed Goslings character in this film than in “Drive”, not to be comparing the two. There is real crime action, and it is hilarious. This isn’t a comedy, but it will be hard for you to not find humor in some of the crime scenes. I also enjoyed Cooper, and would agree with critics and say that this is one of his best performances. Although I also enjoyed his performance in Silver Linings, the character he plays in Beyond the Pines is different from any other character I’ve seen him play. The only complaint I have about the film is with the young actor who plays Cooper’s teenage son. He left a bad taste in my mouth, and I cringed at every scene he was in. Thank goodness there were very few.

This movie is gritty and will have you anticipating each scene. It’s a modest film like Silver Linings that gets by with an exceptional story and character performances…A-!

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Movies in Review: “The Place Beyond the Pines”

  1. CMrok93 says:

    A bit too ambitious for it’s own good, however, the cast is there to save some of the day. Not all, but some. Good review Taj.

    • I didn’t think it was ambitious. The story transitioned a little weirdly though, but excellent performances from Gosling and Cooper. Thanks for reading 🙂

      ________________________________

  2. I haven’t seen this one, but it’s nice to see your high score after so many mediocre to bad reviews I have seen for this one. I didn’t read your review as I am planning on seeing it this week, but I will and we can compare notes soon! 🙂

  3. GaryLee828 says:

    I’m from the WordPress Blog Police and I am here to revoke your blogging license for not liking “Drive”. 🙂

    What was it you didn’t like about it? Not a fan of 80’s movies? I don’t think I’ve ever seen a modern day film that came across like an 80’s movie like that; not only with the action, but with the John Hughes love story, as well. One minute it feels like you’re watching Mad Max – and then it feels like you’re watching “Some Kind of Wonderful”. The way it merged was just genius and brilliantly executed.

    • Lol @ your 1st statement. And to answer your question, No, not a fan of 80’s movies…lol. But I have a question for u…What Action? Drive was an unbearable sappy love story that needed a jolt of energy. I know I am not the majority when I say this, but I did not like Drive…lol

      • GaryLee828 says:

        Oh, I don’t know – taking a hammer and nail and driving it into someone’s mouth; stomping a dude to the death in an elevator; having a shootout in a motel room; running someone off the side of the road and then killing them on the beach; having a knife fight.

        That action.

        Drive was all about anticipation and rising tension. It did a masterful job of merging action and romance like very few movies have. If you don’t like 80’s movies then I guess I understand why you didn’t like Drive.

      • Its funny because everything you mentioned below I have absolutely no recollection of…lol. It read more interesting than it appeared in the movie. I couldn’t deal with all the empty space that was in the film. I do remember the elevator scene though. It was the only scene I enjoyed…lol

        ________________________________

      • GaryLee828 says:

        Your brain is taking only a couple scenes and remembering them to be bigger than they really are and making you believe that was the whole movie; the scenes you’re referring to are when Gosling & Mulligan stare at one another awkwardly as they are processing their feelings for each other. It’s brilliant directing and acting. It takes talented actors to be able to pull the authentic awkwardness off the way they did.

        If you’ve ever been in love and had butterflies in your stomach then you would know what they were feeling. What I like about it is that they convey their feelings to each other without words. I mean it would have been pretty bad if Ryan Gosling busted out, “I get butterflies in my stomach every time I look at you” and then she would have smiled and said “Me, too. I’m feeling so awkward around you b/c I’m attracted to you, but my husband is in jail.”

        See the difference?

        That’s why I appreciate the film so much b/c they made a romance movie without all the lame dialogue.

      • Lol…I’m sure the dialogued wouldn’t have went quite that way, but I get your point. And at the same time, the way you appreciated this scenes direction, I found to be dull. And there were a number of scenes where there was empty space, and all I kept wanting was more dialogue or something to keep me from being annoyed with the whole thing. You can’t change my mind about how I feel about this movie. I understood what was being conveyed, but it wasn’t interesting enough to appeal to me…sorry. But no worries…I get it…U LOVED THIS MOVIE…Lol 🙂

        ________________________________

Comments are closed.