Movies in Review: “The Other Woman”

The_Other_Woman_(2014_film)_poster
I was so looking forward to seeing this movie. Why? Well who doesn’t enjoy Leslie Mann in a comedic movie, and Cameron Diaz…love her. I found the trailer for this movie to be so cute. I love chick flicks! I was only hoping it was going to be as good as I expected. I’m happy to say I was pleased πŸ™‚

I was a little surprised at how packed the theater was to see this movie, and even more surprised to see that it is a box office hit and came out #1 this weekend. Just let me get the negative stuff out-of-the-way first…the story is seriously unbelievable and far-fetched throughout. That’s it…that’s the only negative review I have for it, because this movie was so freakin hilarious, who cares. Leslie Mann was in her element and her and Diaz were a perfect comedy storm. I was so surprised at how hard I was laughing, and each laugh caught me off guard. Something so simple as Mann’s character peeping through a door peep-hole had me in tears. I thought Nicki Minaj would be annoying, but she was a great addition to this comedy. Ok, her voice was a little annoying, but she was still funny as hell too. It gives you laughs like Bridesmaids gave us, but no question Bridesmaids is still the best female comedy.

This is a total chick flick, but there were men in the theater laughing their hearts out too. If you don’t take the story-line too seriously, you will definitely come out of the theater with a smile on your face. If you are in need of a good laugh, I definitely recommend this one. This movie totally lifted my mood. As silly as most of it was, I still have to give it props for great humor…B+

Just an UPDATE…on the fence of whether I am going to continue this blog, hence the reason there were no reviews last weekend. As much as I enjoy movies, spending an entire beautiful weekend in the theater has lost its appeal. At this time I will continue to write reviews, but I am not stressing about seeing every single new weekend release…I do have a life, and I care more about enjoying it than I do about this blog. I appreciate the love and support I have received, and hope you will continue to read, enjoy, and follow.

Love,
ME!

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Movies in Review: “The Other Woman”

  1. yaykisspurr says:

    This looked really funny to me too! Glad to hear it was good.

    As for you blog you should make of it what you want and not worry about followers so much. If we like you we’ll continue to follow you. It doesn’t have to be just about movies! Cheers. πŸ™‚

    • It was very funny. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

      Not worried about followers at all. I enjoy watching movies, so my blog is a reflection of what I enjoy. But Life happens and sometimes movies aren’t a priority right now. I am about being consistent, but instead of reviewing everything that comes out, I have to be more selective and the movies reviewed will be less. I think I’ve just worn myself out. I’m hoping to get a light break and see where my head is at later. I’m totally content with the people who do stop by and read. Just giving those people a heads up. Thanks so much for the comment πŸ™‚

  2. CMrok93 says:

    I usually like Leslie Mann in almost everything she does, but here, she just felt way too annoying and cloying for me to ever sympathize with. Even when it was clear that she was the one I should have been caring about the most. I don’t know. Maybe it’s just a problem I have. Good review Taj.

    • Her cloying didn’t bother me at as much as it did you. I agree that it was a little annoying sometimes, but also quite hilarious. I found myself cracking up. Sorry you didn’t enjoy it as much as I did, although I don’t think that most men will. Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.