Movies in Review: “The Double”

The-Double-Jesse-Eisenberg-Trailer-2014
I heard nothing about this movie, not a movie poster, trailer nothing. I came across the title while checking for new movie releases on Fandango. I was a little confused because I had already seen The Double years ago, starring Richard Gere and Topher Grace. However upon further investigation, this was not the spy thriller I had seen, but a black comedy starring Jesse Eisenberg that had the same movie title name…hmmmm… Interesting…I am a building fan of Eisenberg, and so far I have enjoyed most of his roles. However he is the lead in this movie, so I had to see it.

I am a fan of dark comedies, but this one missed me. You ever watch a movie and by credits end you feel dumb as hell. That was me with this one. I didn’t get it pretty much at all…lol. It didn’t start so bad. I loved the way it was filmed, the costumes, and writing and directing style, but I’m sure there was a moral of the story that I missed. I will give kudos to Eisenberg who had to play dual characters. He made each character so different that it felt like I was watching two different people with the same face. Partway through the film, it started to have a “Fight Club” kind of story film, but only a very small inkling of it. If someone could tell me what I missed, I think I would feel a lot better about myself…lol.

I know this review won’t help you much with your decision to see it, and I’m sorry for that. There were things I enjoyed about it. It was definitely interesting, and dull at the same time (I know, totally doesn’t make sense), but I review how a movie makes me feel. This one totally left something unfinished…B-

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Movies in Review: “The Double”

  1. CMrok93 says:

    It was funnier than I expected it to be. But when it wanted to be creepy, it still was and never felt tonally off. I liked that and wish more movies would follow suit. Good review Taj.

  2. guyportman says:

    Sounds like an intriguing film. I had never heard of it either. Black comedies are usually entertaining.

    • Its is intriguing, and I agree black comedies are entertaining. Black comedies are one on my top 3 genres because of their off kilter style of entertainment. With this movie I found myself entertained for the most part then totally baffled by the end…lol. Hopefully you will have a more conclusive result than I did! 🙂 Thanks for reading!

Comments are closed.