Movies in Review: “The Maze Runner”

The_Maze_Runner_poster
Who hasn’t been looking forward to this one? I know I was. The theatrical trailer for this one was well done. I was expecting nothing but a great movie, but I guess I should have done some research about the movie first, then maybe I would have left the movie more satisfied…

This movie opens well, and everything else after is greatness. There are great visuals, an intriguing story line, and a phenomenal performances by the young cast. There is great suspense, I found myself jumping in my seat more than once. The movie moves at a nice pace so interest isn’t lost. I just wish I knew that this movie was the first installment of a series, because I was completely satisfied with the movie until it ended…and you know how I hate empty endings. This movie built my emotions up, only to leave me flat in the end. Although it is a series, there had to be a better way to end it right? Most series end with you anticipating the next installment. This one ended with me rolling my eyes and caring less about the next movie. Which is bad, because for the most part the movie was pretty great…but that ending…smh…

I didn’t leave the theater the happiest, but I did enjoy everything about this movie that happened before the end. I’m sure most of you will enjoy this, and won’t leave the theater as vexed as I did…lol. Other than the ending, it is a pretty decent movie…B+

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Movies in Review: “The Maze Runner”

  1. ohhhhh you liked it so much better than I did.. I saw it Friday & feel like I got ripped off because I’m over the age of 15..hahahahah I liked the cast..I thought the story was not compelling at all..the creatures were silly..and completely agree with you on the ending which I saw coming a mile away..I’m giving it a D ..cuz yes..I’m hardcore mean!! hahahahahahahhaha

    • Ya know…I was this close to giving it a C…but I did enjoy everything up until the end. I thought it would build up to something more exciting. The creatures would have been less silly if there was more of a back-story on everything that was going on. And I expected to get that at the end, but was sadly disappointed…smh…I honestly think it was Chuck and the Asian “runner” (forgot his name), as well as the other characters, that kept me from giving it a lower grade. But your right, its not as compelling as it should have been…;)

  2. I will say I am looking forward to part 2 tho..because I think it will have the more compelling part of the story to tell..

Leave a Reply

