Movies in Review: “Independence Day: Resurgence”

Independence-Day-2-posterI absolutely loved the original Independence Day, and was excited to see the trailer for the sequel, until I noticed there was no Will Smith in it…Huh? Kind of a big move to proceed with a sequel without having your star from the first film involved. Needless to say, by the time the trailer ended with no Will Smith in sight, I was less excited about the movie and more annoyed. I did not want to see this movie at all, and I should have went with my instincts and passed on it.

 

It was evident Will’s presence wasn’t there and they tried to fill the void with Liam Hemsworth and Jesse Usher, which didn’t work, especially Jesse Usher, he was awful. I was more annoyed with the new young additions than entertained. Thankfully though, the remainder of the cast from the sequel reprised their roles, like Jeff Goldblum, and Judd Hirsh who plays Goldblum’s father, also the crazy scientist from the first film played by Brent Spiner. They kept the movie entertaining. The visuals were amazing as always, even better than the first, but the new characters definitely killed it for me. Vivica Fox reprised her role, but she only had about 2 scenes that lasted about 10 secs each…smh…poor Vivica.

 

This movie could have used Smith. His absence was felt throughout the film, it definitely wasn’t the same. With Smith this movie would have been a box office smash, and although it did well at the box office this weekend, I still don’t think it’s going to come close to the sales of its predecessor…C+

About tajgreenemoviesinreview

I am creative by nature, and analytical by design. My escape from the riff raff of everyday life is a great movie. I do not title myself as a movie critic. I am a part of the viewing audience simple and plain. I started this blog to give a real life review of films, as an avid movie goer. Movies are expensive, and not always worth the money. I hope my reviews help you in your descision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

